2016 Organization of American Historians Book Awards

Pirate Nests and the Rise of the British Empire, 1570-1740

Every year, the Organization of American Historians awards prizes for the best books in United States history for that year within different historical disciplines. These books are evaluated by extremely qualified historians and who identify some of the best new books in American history for 2016.

Frederick Jackson Turner Award

The Turner Award is given to an author for their first scholarly book on United States history.

Mark G. Hanna, Pirate Nests and the Rise of the British Empire, 1570–1740 (2017, University of North Carolina Press)


Joshua L. Reid, The Sea Is My Country: The Maritime World of the Makahs (Yale University Press).

Andrew J. Torget, Seeds of Empire: Cotton, Slavery, and the Transformation of the Texas Borderlands, 1800–1850 (University of North Carolina Press).

Merle Curti Award

The Curti Award is given to the best new books in the fields of American social history and intellectual history.

Corazón de Dixie by Julie Weise

SOCIAL HISTORY Julie M. Weise, Corazón de Dixie: Mexicanos in the U.S. South since 1910 (University of North Carolina Press)

INTELLECTUAL HISTORY Daniel Immerwahr, Thinking Small: The United States and the Lure of Community Development (Harvard University Press)

Darlene Clark Hine Award Winners

The Darlene Clark Hine Award is given annually by the Organization of American Historians to the author of the best book in African American women's and gender history. Talitha L. LeFlouria, Chained in Silence: Black Women and Convict Labor in the New South (University of North Carolina Press)

HONORABLE MENTION: Premilla Nadasen, Household Workers Unite: The Untold Story of African American Women Who Built a Movement (Beacon Press) HONORABLE MENTION: Sherie M. Randolph, Florynce "Flo" Kennedy: The Life of a Black Feminist Radical (University of North Carolina Press)

Richard W. Leopold Prize

The Leopold Prize is unique because it recognizes the contributions of U.S. government and federal contract historians. The award is given to the author or editor of the best book on foreign policy, military affairs, historical activities of the federal government, documentary histories, or biography.

Jacqueline E. Whitt, " Bringing God to Men: American Military Chaplains and the Vietnam War (University of North Carolina Press)

Avery O. Craven Award

The Craven award is given to best book covering the Civil War, the Civil War years, or the Era of Reconstruction. Military history books are excluded from this prize.

Martha Hodes, Mourning Lincoln (Yale University Press).

HONORABLE MENTION: Gregory P. Downs, After Appomattox: Military Occupation and the Ends of War (Harvard University Press).

James A. Rawley Prize

The Rawley Prize recognizes the best new book addressing the history of race relations in the United States.

Brethren by Nature by Margaret Ellen Newell

Margaret Ellen Newell, Brethren By Nature: New England Indians, Colonists, and the Origins of American Slavery (Cornell University Press)

Ellis W. Hawley Prize

The Hawley prize is awarded for the best book-length on the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present.

Gary Gerstle, Liberty and Coercion: The Paradox of American Government from the Founding to the Present (Princeton University Press)

Liberty Legacy Foundation Award

The Liberty Legacy Award is specifically for the best book by a historian on the civil rights struggle.

Tanisha C. Ford, Liberated Threads: Black Women, Style, and the Global Politics of Soul (University of North Carolina Press)

Lawrence W. Levine Award

The Levine Award focuses on the best book in American cultural history.

Benjamin Looker, A Nation of Neighborhoods: Imagining Cities, Communities, and Democracy in Postwar America (University of Chicago Press).

David Montgomery Award

The Montgomery Award is given to the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history.

Elizabeth Fones-Wolf and Ken Fones-Wolf, Struggle for the Soul of the Postwar South: White Evangelical Protestants and Operation Dixie (University of Illinois Press)

HONORABLE MENTION: Lou Martin, Smokestacks in the Hills: Rural-Industrial Workers in West Virginia (University of Illinois Press).

Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History

The Nickless Prize is awarded to the most original book in during any period of American women’s or gender history.

Cassandra Alexis Good, Founding Friendships: Friendships between Men and Women in the Early American Republic (Oxford University Press).