Jump to: navigation, search

2017 Organization of American Historians Book Awards

14 bytes added, 00:13, 15 April 2017
no edit summary
The Turner Award is given to an author for their first scholarly book on United States history.
[[File:Blue_Texas.jpg|thumbnail|200px|left|<i>Blue Texas</i> by Max Krochmal]]
#*Max Krochmal, <i>[ Blue Texas: The Making of a Multiracial Democratic Coalition in the Civil Rights Era]</i> (University of North Carolina Press)
===Merle Curti Intellectual History Award===
The Curti Award is given to the best new books in the fields of American intellectual history.
*Susanna L. Blumenthal, <i>[ Law and the Modern Mind: Consciousness and Responsibility in American Legal Culture]</i> (Harvard University Press)
===Merle Curti Social History Award===
The Curti Award is given to the best new books in the fields of American social history.
*Wendy Warren, <i>[ New England Bound: Slavery and Colonization in Early America]</i> (Liveright Publishing Corporation)
===Avery O. Craven Award===
The Craven award is given to best book covering the Civil War, the Civil War years, or the Era of Reconstruction. Military history books are excluded from this prize.
*Manisha Sinha, <i>[ The Slave’s Cause: A History of Abolition]</i> (Yale University Press)
===Ray Allen Billington Prize===
The Billington Prize is awarded for the best book on the history of native and/or settler peoples in frontier, border, and borderland zones of intercultural contact.
*Karl Jacoby, <i>[ The Strange Career of William Ellis: The Texas Slave Who Became a Mexican Millionaire]</i> (W. W. Norton & Company)
===James A. Rawley Prize===
The Rawley Prize recognizes the best new book addressing the history of race relations in the United States.
*Robert G. Parkinson, <i>[ The Common Cause: Creating Race and Nation in the American Revolution]</i> (University of North Carolina Press)
===Ellis W. Hawley Prize===
The Hawley prize is awarded for the best book-length on the political economy, politics, or institutions of the United States, in its domestic or international affairs, from the Civil War to the present.
*Sam Lebovic, <i>[ Free Speech and Unfree News: The Paradox of Press Freedom in America]</i> (Harvard University Press)
===Liberty Legacy Foundation Award===
The Liberty Legacy Award is specifically for the best book by a historian on the civil rights struggle.
*Russell Rickford, <i>[ We Are an African People: Independent Education, Black Power, and the Radical Imagination]</i> (Oxford University Press)
HONORABLE MENTION: Elizabeth Hinton, <i>[ From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime: The Making of Mass Incarceration in America]</i> (Harvard University Press).
[[File:Kika_kila.jpg|thumbnail|left|200px|<i>Kīkā Kila</i> by John W. Troutman]]
*John W. Troutman, <i>[ Kīkā Kila: How the Hawaiian Steel Guitar Changed the Sound of Modern Music]</i> (University of North Carolina Press)
===David Montgomery Award===
The Montgomery Award is given to the best book on a topic in American labor and working-class history.
*Ryan Patrick Murphy, <i>[ Deregulating Desire: Flight Attendant Activism, Family Politics, and Workplace Justice]</i> (Temple University Press)
===Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History===
The Nickless Prize is awarded to the most original book in during any period of American women’s or gender history.
*Katherine Turk, <i>[ Equality on Trial: Gender and Rights in the Modern American Workplace]</i> (University of Pennsylvania Press) 
===Darlene Clark Hine Award===
The Clark Award is given to the author of the best book in African American women’s and gender history.
*LaShawn D. Harris, <i>[ Sex Workers, Psychics, and Numbers Runners: Black Women in New York City’s Underground Economy]</i> (University of Illinois Press)
===Willi Paul Adams Award===
Every 2 years, this award is given to the author of the best book on American history published in a foreign language.
 *Catherine Collomp, Université Paris-Diderot, <i>Résister au nazisme: Le Jewish Labor Committee, New York, 1934–1945</i>
(CNRS Editions) [<i>Relief, Rescue and Resistance: The Jewish Labor Committee’s Anti-Nazi Operations: 1934–1945</i>]
HONORABLE MENTION:Gilles Havard, <i>Histoire des coureurs de bois. Amérique du Nord 1600 –1840 (Les Indes Savantes)</i> [<i>A History of Indian Traders. North America, 1600 –1840</i>].
<div class="portal" style="width:85%;">

Navigation menu